Skip to Main Content

Greater Capital Area Association of Realtors®

Emeritus Status

What are the requirements to become an Emeritus status member?

Any person who has held membership in the National Association as a REALTOR®, REALTOR®-ASSOCIATE®, or a combination of both for a cumulative period of 40 years in one or more Associations of REALTORS®, and has completed at least one year of service* on a committee at the local, state, or national level is eligible for National Emeritus status.

GCAAR will follow the requirements above for local Emeritus status.

 Maryland REALTORS® (MR) requires 50 years of membership in addition to the member holding MR Emeritus status.

Please note: the new REALTOR® Emeritus eligibility criteria is as follows:

In addition to the required forty (40) years of REALTOR® membership:

Applications submitted in the years 2015 through 2019 will require proof of one (1) year of service* at the local, state, or National Association level.

Applications submitted in 2020 and beyond will require proof of one (1) year of service* at the National Association level.

* “Service” is defined as serving as an officer, director, committee member, federal political coordinator, President’s liaison or regional coordinator to a country with which NAR holds a reciprocal agreement.

What are the benefits of emeritus status?

Members with Emeritus status no longer need to pay dues to the National Association of REALTORS® in order to maintain their membership. Waiver of dues by the local Association and/or State Association is at the discretion of those entities.

How do I submit an application?

You must contact the first REALTOR® association you joined for documentation of your application of membership. If the first REALTOR® Association you joined was in Montgomery County or Washington, DC, check your records with GCAAR by emailing and requesting a review of your records for Emeritus status consideration. If the Association does not have the documents you need, you should contact the Real Estate Board in the State in which you were first licensed for documentation.

Please submit all supporting documentation to GCAAR via e-mail by Friday, September 27, 2019, and GCAAR will forward your application to NAR by the Wednesday, October 2, 2019 deadline.

ATTN: Jackie Morgan


Who decides if I am approved for Emeritus status?

Emeritus status is granted by the National Association of REALTORS®. Local and state Associations have no influence on the selection process.

National Association of REALTORS®’ Emeritus page.